Sony Reduces PS Vita Sales Expectations By 3 Million Units

| February 8, 2013 | Reply

English: Representative CEO and EDP of Sony Co...

There are quite a few companies slashing sales expectations at the moment. Sony seem to be adding to this ever growing list. Sony have just posted a drop in year-on-year revenue by 15% for its Q3 FY2012 results.

More notably is the slashing of their PS Vita console which is being slashed by a massive 3 million units. Now, that’s a massive drop in expectations as Sony blame poor software and hardware sales for the result.

Console manufacturers have never really made that much from the sale of the console. They’ve traditionally made their money from the sale of their games and licencing the brand and the right to make games for their consoles. However, with a drop in sales of it’s flagship PS2 and PS3 consoles down 6.8 million from 7.4 million this time last year, that’s pretty serious in anyone’s book. Indeed, software sales were down 61.7 million units, down from 2011′s 68.7 million units.

Sony is holding an event in February where it is expected to launch their latest console (the eagerly awaited PlayStation 4). It rumoured that this event will be live streamed from New York 18:00 EST/15:00 PST/23:00 GMT which should be an interesting launch day for Sony.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Article, News, Sony, Tech

About the Author ()

I set up Hot Deals Monster because I was frustrated with the lack of deals specifically targeted to Men. I wasn't interested in cheap nappies or 10p off my next box of cornflakes. I wanted real, interesting deals that would genuinely help and save money for the male consumer.

Leave a Reply

What is 11 + 12 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)